

May 24, 2016

The Honorable T. Dan Friedkin Chairman, Texas Parks & Wildlife Commission 4200 Smith School Road Austin, TX 78744

Dear Chairman Friedkin:

South Texans' Property Rights Association (STPRA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting the rights of property owners in South Texas and promoting the region's future growth, prosperity, and security. STPRA provides education, outreach and advocacy in the areas of border security and immigration reform, eminent domain, water regulation and conservation, transportation, human and animal health, and more.

I write this letter on behalf of STPRA and its membership of over 600 property owners, business entities and interested individuals in 47 Texas counties to ask that you adopt the proposed permanent rules concerning Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD). The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and Commission were quick to act when CWD was originally discovered in Texas ensuring the spread of the disease was kept to a minimum. Adopting emergency rules was sensible and prudent and was done in the best interest of Texas deer herds, property owners, and all citizens.

There is no question that CWD poses a threat to the health and wellbeing of Texas wildlife. However, it also presents serious consequences to property owners in South Texas and throughout the state. If left unchecked and without proper management, the disease would prove to be disastrous to the property owners of Texas. As of yet CWD has not been identified in wild deer herds. If the disease were to spread into these herds that populate low fence ranches, values would plummet causing severe economic hardship to property owners.

We would also like to suggest that consideration be given to the use of radio-frequency identification (RFID) ear tags for all deer moved and released by permit in Texas.

We ask that the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission adopt the proposed permanent CWD rules to protect Texas property owners, and more importantly, the deer herds and wildlife that are such an important part of our Texas heritage.

Respectfully yours,

Susan Kibbe

Executive Director

South Texans' Property Rights Association

Susan J. Kibbe

Chairman, Advisory Board

Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Institute

Cc: The Honorable Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas

The Honorable Dan Patrick, Lieutenant Governor of Texas

The Honorable Joe Straus, Speaker - Texas House of Representatives

The Honorable Ryan Guillen, Chair - House Culture, Recreation & Tourism Committee

The Honorable Tracy King, Chair – House Agriculture & Livestock Committee

The Honorable Charles Perry, Chair – Senate Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs Committee

The Honorable Ralph H. Duggins, Vice-Chair - TPWD Commission

The Honorable Anna B. Galo, TPWD Commissioner

The Honorable Bill Jones, TPWD Commissioner

The Honorable Jeanne W. Latimer, TPWD Commissioner

The Honorable James H. Lee, TPWD Commissioner

The Honorable S. Reed Morian, TPWD Commissioner

The Honorable Richard "Dick" Scott, TPWD Commissioner

The Honorable Kelcy L. Warren, TPWD Commissioner

The Honorable Lee M. Bass, Chairman-Emeritus – TPWD Commission

Mr. Carter Smith, TPWD Executive Director

Dr. Andy Schwartz, DVM, TAHC Interim Executive Director